All-New Weekly Pull: November 20

I’ve been rather busy as the semester plunges into its final weeks, and as such this week’s weekly pull will be brief. Moreover, next week I will be flying home for Thanksgiving and won’t be able to pick up my comics before leaving, so… yeah.

Fables #135

I’m a sucker for completion, and admittedly that’s the main reason that this book is still on my pull: I hate the idea of dropping an arc halfway through. It’s not that Fables is bad; it’s just that it’s a long-running tale without the sort of payoff that I tend to look for in single issues. My plan has always been to read it all in trades, and this issue did nothing to change that plan. 3/5 [Indifferent]

Harley Quinn #0

I don’t know how I ended up liking Harley Quinn. I suspect it had something to do with the friends I made when I got into comics — a sort of HQ fanaticism pervaded. Regardless, I quickly came to love who she’d been, and that meant loathing who she’d become under New 52 management. I’ve been disinterested to mildly annoyed to outright offended by the various depictions of Harley I’ve seen over the last couple years’ worth of publication, so I was completely unprepared for how amazing this issue ended up being.

As a zero issue, it’s hard to say whether the tone and respect for Harley will properly carry over into the actual series, but Harley Quinn #0 did wonders for my optimism. The book features Amanda Conner & Jimmy Palmiotti — the regular writing/art team for the series — talking more or less directly with Harley via speech bubbles as she dreams of what a comic featuring her would be like were it made by a slew of different artists. The cover accurately boasts seventeen artists (even Bruce Timm), and it’s a blast to see so much variety handled so well. The overall theme is comic sprinkled with tragic and disturbing, which is precisely what one would hope for in a Harley-centric title.

I really think anyone who has ever loved Harley should give this issue a go. It was without a doubt the most pleasant surprise of the week, and I can only hope the actual series lives up to the expectations this introduction have generated. 5/5 [Loved It]

The Wake #5 (of 10)

As with any good miniseries, The Wake isn’t something you can jump into partway through. It’s designed as a single cohesive narrative and presented as such, with this issue crowning the first half of the series in a thoroughly satisfying way. The second half doesn’t kick off until February, giving you plenty of time to hunt down and read Part One in its entirety. If you’re interested in a story part underwater sci-fi, part mythological horror, this is for you. 5/5 [Loved It]

Uncanny X-Men #14

Despite how long the book has been running, we’ve been given precious little insight as to what “learning” takes place under Scott and co.’s tutelage, and it was about time that changed. This issue sees Emma take the lead on brushing up Benjamin’s skill sets, though the word “unorthodox” barely scratches the surface of how questionable her teaching methods are. I continue to enjoy Bachalo’s art and Bendis’s talent for humorous banter (Illyana’s dryness is fantastic), but I can almost hear the eyes rolling and the teeth grating from fans who feel these teachers have officially lost it. 4/5 [Liked It]

X-Men #7

I’m going to dodge the obvious bullets and just say that Monet & Karima as major players in this team excite me despite not having previously read anything with either. I hope that this arc turns out well, because from the sounds of it the critics are going to start going extra hard on this title going forward. 4/5 [Liked It]

