Exclusive “Cover”age: Morning Glories Variant Edition

As an almost exclusively-digital comics reader, I skip a lot of the headaches that come with print reading: the trip to the store, the concern over my order getting messed up, maintaining quality over time, the physical storage aspect. There’s much to be said for waking up on a Wednesday, turning on my iPad, and immediately having every comic released that day at my fingertips, even the ones I forgot were coming out. But I lose some things as well, and one of the worst is the thrill of variant and incentive covers. Sometimes I get a little green. But, like, in the envy way, not the Hulk way. Exclusive Coverage will be my way of highlighting the covers that catch my eye.

For the last few days Nick Spenser and Joe Eisma, responsible for Morning Glories, have been sharing upcoming variant covers for the book, and I must say I’m a bit bummed that none of them are in my future. These are the ones I most wish I had an LCS nearby to order through.

The first three are covers for the newest issues, #27. One wonders whether Nick Pitarra was inspired by the recent Fearless Defenders covers over at Marvel for this action figure mockup starring the enigmatic Irina whose violent streak is already quite apparent to anyone who has finished the first season (and if you haven’t, get on that!).

Morning Glories #27, Nick Pitarra Variant
Morning Glories #27, Nick Pitarra Variant

Rob Guillory’s convoluted board-game cover is filled with inside jokes on the book thus far; it’s not terribly spoiler-laden but with this book discovery is such a great part of the enjoyment that I’d recommend not looking if you’re not at least decently familiar with the series. Otherwise, I dare you not to laugh.

Morning Glories #27, Rob Guillory Variant
Morning Glories #27, Rob Guillory Variant

Those variants are pretty sweet, though to be honest I don’t think anyone’s going to complain about Eisma’s default cover. Cast photo, anyone?

Morning Glories #27, Joe Eisma Standard Cover
Morning Glories #27, Joe Eisma Standard Cover

The covers for Issue 28 have been nothing short of jaw-dropping for me. I’d never heard of Cheggour before but the detail and use of lighting in this variant ensures that that ignorance is going to be corrected immediately.

Morning Glories #28, Mehdi Cheggour Variant
Morning Glories #28, Mehdi Cheggour Variant

On the flipside, we have “Sheriff” Charles P. Wilson III’s landscape cover, which adorably renders something very…un-adorable. This is actually my desktop wallpaper right now.

Morning Glories #28, Charles Wilson Variant
Morning Glories #28, Charles Wilson Variant

 

 

 

